School Insurance of Florida
Insuring Florida's kids for over 40 years.
Affordable Insurance Protection!
Charlotte County Public Schools
How to File a Claim
1) This coverage is secondary, excess insurance. You must file a claim with your primary family insurance first. If your son or daughter has an accident, please obtain a claim form from the school principal's office or the athletic office where your son or daughter attends school.
2) Part B of the claim form will need to be filled out by the school official if the injury happened at school. The Parent is required to complete Part A and mail to School Insurance of Florida's claim office. Please follow the instructions printed on the claim form.
3) You will need to attach copies of all itemized medical bills. If you have other primary insurance you will need to file a claim with your primary insurance carrier and include a copy of the letter or statement from your primary insurance indicating the payments provided by them or their reasons for refusal to pay benefits to you.
4) It is the Parent/Legal Guardian’s responsibility to file a claim within 90 days from the date of accident. The school is not responsible for filing claims. However, they will provide you with a claim form or you can download one from this website or contact School Insurance of Florida to obtain a claim form. Please forward the completed claim form to School Insurance of Florida no later than 90 days after the date of accident to be eligible to receive any available policy benefits. You must file a claim with any other primary insurance, even if you have a deductible. This includes HSA, HMO or PPO plans.
We do not accept online claim filing because a school official’s signature and the parent/legal guardian signature are needed on the form. You only need to submit ONE completed claim form for each accident. You do not have to send another claim form if you are submitting additional bills that come in later. PLEASE DO NOT CALL THE SCHOOL ABOUT THE STATUS OF A CLAIM PAYMENT OR TO ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT COVERAGE. Contact: SCHOOL INSURANCE OF FLORIDA if you need answers to claim or coverage issues. The school does not keep records regarding claims. All claims are processed by School Insurance of Florida's claim office.
When contacting School Insurance of Florida office about a claim, please state the full name of your injured son or daughter and the COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT where he or she attends school. We need the school name to reference the claim information for you. Generally, valid claims are processed within 7 working days after receipt of completed claim information.
FLORIDA LAW STATES: Any person who knowingly and with intent to injure, defraud or deceive any insurance company, files a statement of claim or an enrollment form containing any false or incomplete, or misleading information is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
WHERE TO SEEK MEDICAL TREATMENT
If a student has any other form of primary insurance you should stay in that primary insurance network even if you have a deductible. You must file a claim with any primary insurance coverage first to be eligible for the student accident insurance even if you have a deductible. If there is no primary insurance coverage, students may seek medical treatment from any licensed hospital or licensed physician and be eligible to receive the stated school policy benefits that are outlined in the enrollment application. Please refer to the top part of the enrollment application for a summary listing of policy benefits, limitations and exclusions.
The Insurance Company cannot regulate how much doctors or other providers of service charge. Doctors and Hospitals are allowed to establish and charge their own fee levels. Doctors and Hospitals may charge more than what the School Insurance of Florida accident insurance policy pays. The insurance benefits will be paid based upon the stated policy provisions. Please review the summary of insurance for benefits information.
For more information, please click on 'IMPORTANT LINKS' above